Failing to reassess…again

October 20, 2008 at 11:44 pm 1 comment

I hope you all would have done better on this deal from our Saturday match against Cayne on BBO.

NORTH
S AKQ83
H QJ6
D J763
C 6
WEST
S 764
H 10
D 84
C KQJ7542
EAST
S 9
H A975
D AKQ952
C 109
SOUTH
S J1052
H K8432
D 10
C A83

In the other room East decided to overcall his good diamond suit and then got nervous when partner didn’t want to bid his clubs until the five level. Game in diamonds can’t make.

WEST NORTH EAST SOUTH
Saverio Appleton Llande Reynolds
1S 2D 3D
Pass 3S Pass 4S
5C Pass 5D Dble
All Pass

In my room partner began with a takeout double and stuck to his guns over 5C which has got to be at least a 6 card suit, after all, and has no second suit.

WEST NORTH EAST SOUTH
Chua Seamon Hinge Cayne
1S Double 4S
5C All Pass

It looked to me like there were two plans on the hand after the defence began by cashing a spade and shifting to the queen of hearts. There was the at best messy one of ruffing two spades: ruff a heart, ruff a spade, ruff a heart, ruff a spade and now what? Ruff the fourth heart high? Or low? Or with the eight? And even then, after that the opponents win the ace of clubs and throw me in dummy. That looked grim to me.

The option is to play a club at trick two. With a bit of luck the club ace will be singleton so it can’t be ducked. If it is ducked, then I can hope that the doubleton ace is with the short diamond and combine that with a spade ruff to make. If trumps are 3-1 maybe the long ace is with the long diamonds….and maybe they won’t duck and now I’m on diamonds 3-2.

That all looked better to me, so I played a club and RHO won and exited a trump. I drew a third. So relieved was I at this point, that when I played a diamond to dummy, the implications of the ten on my right didn’t even bounce off me, let alone sink in. It was a big flag I shouldn’t have needed as it was already obvious.

On the auction RHO is almost certainly 4513. It was auto at that point to cross back to hand and take the diamond finesse. Auto, that is, if you had a few brain cells on the job. Can’t say what I was saving mine for.

Bottom line is that this is like the last declarer play hand I discussed. The problem of this hand has now totally changed once RHO turns up with 3 clubs. Being able to be mentally flexible to go with that change, however, is easier said than done.

Entry filed under: Cayne matches, declarer play. Tags: , , , , , .

Please help me, doctor, I’ve been playing Pairs. So far and yet so close….

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jonathan  |  October 21, 2008 at 10:12 am

    I’ve a lot of sympathy. Once RHO hopped with CA, he’d have had to follow to at least three more rounds before I believed he didn’t have a club stiff.

    I’ve long believed it’s not that hard to play bridge moderately well. What is tough is playing well more than two boards out of three.

    I think it’s time you redressed the balance posting a hand where you starred rather than this mild weltschmerz…

    Good view by Simon passing 5C – not sure I’d have managed it. Much easier in the other room, given the lack of a 4NT bid
    I’d have thought.
    Best wishes to you both,
    Jonathan

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers


