Defending like the Maestro.

November 19, 2008 at 6:26 am 2 comments

When I first saw the following opening lead problem, it entranced me. Reese was on lead to 4s in the 1964 Olympiad with

s Q 9 4
h1 10 9 6 5 4 3
d1 Q 8
cA Q

He knew that dummy was strong and balanced, around 20 HCP, and that declarer had five spades. Anybody for the pedestrian heart lead? Not Reese. He began with the queen of clubs.

The idea of this opening lead quite took my fancy and I waited for some years to try it at the table. At last my moment came. Playing a combined scoring of IMPs and
point-a-board I picked up

s Q 6
h1 Q 10 9 7 5
d1 J 10 9 3
c A Q

After partner passed first in hand, RHO opened a weak two spades, LHO enquired and after discovering that partner had a minimum signed off in 3s. I had really been hoping for a more momentous occasion for my spectacular lead but could hardly spurn the opportunity. So, the queen of clubs hit the table and dummy was revealed….

NORTH

s A 10 2
h1 A 8
d1 Q 6 5 4
c K 9 8 2

WEST

s Q 6
h1 Q 10 9 7 5
d1 J 10 9 3
c A Q

EAST

s 9 5
h1 K J 6
d1 K 7
c J 10 7 6 5 3

SOUTH

s K J 8 7 4 3
h1 4 3 2
d1 A 8 2
c 4

That declarer won the king of clubs at trick one was by no means the worst news. Next ace and another heart saw my partner in. ‘Knowing’ that I held the ace of diamonds (because declarer was ‘known’ to have the ace of clubs) he shifted to the king of diamonds in order to announce his ruff before delivering my ‘known’ club ruff. After the score-up at the end of the match, my teammates really didn’t seem in the mood for an explanation of how it was possible to take so few tricks in the
minors with our cards. I am hoping they will have a little sympathy if they read this story….

Entry filed under: defence, history. Tags: , , .

Round one Dresden 2008 Dresden Chess Olympiad 2008…I ask Ian Rogers some questions.

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gary  |  December 25, 2008 at 3:24 am

    I have sympathy for your lead. Such is the fate of many a brilliant play. Although in this case dummy is considerably less than 20 points, as per reasons for the Reese lead.

    The results could have revealed your brilliance, but fell the way of most NY Times Leads ands was spectacular in the negative.

    It like the few times I made briliant psyches, and the brilliancy lasted for one and sometimes two rounds of bidding, only to come crashing down when partner puncuated my brilliancy with a bid of his last turn to bid.

    Well done.

    Thanks for the hand.

    Gary

    Reply
  • 2. sartaj  |  November 19, 2008 at 6:37 am

    Thats hilarious !

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers


