Tricks out of nothing.

January 26, 2009 at 1:18 am Leave a comment

Round two of the NOT our team was already struggling, having managed a modest win in the first round. This round didn’t look like it was going to be better, I thought, as I gloomily perused my dummy on one board. I was in 3C doubled, which was 3 off, no escaping that. To make matters worse it looked like our teammates might well be in 6 hearts and as they were 5-0, well, it was all too depressing for words.

Dummy had Jxxxx in hearts and LHO had AKQxx. To my amazement, in the middle of the hand, she shifted to a low one letting my jack score while RHO still had to follow suit. Things were looking up, I thought, -300 and -50, not so bad. In fact really rather good, that -300, as Warren Lazer made 6H in the other room despite the bad trump break.

Later on in the event I held this combination again. It was a side suit in a major suit game. Jxxxx in dummy opposite x in hand. A trick or two into the hand I led the jack from dummy – and it held. Please, may I hold this combination more often!

I don’t know if there is a moral to the story, but I did find the reactions of each pair interesting. The first pair had a bit of a barney. When the jack held against the second pair BOTH of them apologised. I’m sure it is just a coincidence that it was the second pair who got to the finals….

Entry filed under: 2009 NOT.

The NOT 2009 Thoughts about the NOT.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers


