Your bid. Victorian Playoff continued.

April 28, 2009 at 7:30 pm 6 comments

This is the second post for Tuesday

sK983
h1AQJ862
d1A2
c5

EW vul, you are first in hand, IMPs.
You open 1H, LHO overcalls 1S, partner bids 4H, RHO 4S What now?

Entry filed under: VBA.

Victorian team playoff The Victorian Playoff continued

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ron Lel  |  April 29, 2009 at 12:30 pm

    Well I am doubling this rather than bidding 5H. K9 to 4 spades, even sitting under the overcaller, is going to prove bothersome. I really don’t think 5H is going to make here.

    Reply
  • 2. Ben Thompson  |  April 29, 2009 at 8:27 am

    5H.

    It’s the right bid on a TNT basis, and with 4 small spades, we wouldn’t be thinking about it much.

    One of the areas TNT breaks down is when you have slow defensive trump tricks. You might conceivably have 3 trump tricks on defence here but by far the most likely case is 1.

    So my tricks are a spade, the DA and maybe a heart. Quite likely one of them (especially righty) has a heart void.

    Even if partner has a defensive trick, which is only medium likely, you are only a medium chance to be beating 4S. It’s also not ridiculously unlikely that they are making 5S.

    So I bid 5H now, but I do double 5S, because -850 is cheaper than -990 🙂

    Reply
    • 3. cathychua  |  April 29, 2009 at 9:14 am

      What if you were on lead, so you could wheel out your singleton….and if your spades were over the spade overcall. Would that change things for you? At least if you get to lead your singleton, your partner’s hypothetical one trick could actually be worth 2!

      Reply
      • 4. Ben Thompson  |  April 29, 2009 at 9:41 am

        How would the auction have gone to have me over the spades?

        1H-P-4H-4S? That sounds like a good spade suit to me. I’m less certain about the TNT, and I think I’ll have some play in 5H (eg x xxxxx Kxx xxxx opposite), but I think I now have several pathways to beating 4S. It’s a little hard to be certain knowing the full hand, but I think I would X 4S and lead a club in this auction.

        4SX might make, but I might also get it 2 off. On balance, I think I’m going to be more positive on average Xing and defending in this auction than bidding on.

        Reply
  • 5. Simon Hinge  |  April 28, 2009 at 11:47 pm

    Max, well done, you now need to supply a well reasoned argument. Well you don’t have to really!!

    Reply
  • 6. Max  |  April 28, 2009 at 7:50 pm

    5H

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


