NZ Playoff…the grandslam

May 11, 2009 at 7:38 am 5 comments

Michael Ware’s NZ Bridge article is presented as a group of problems….and I, for one, am not on the NZ team this year!

But this one I only got moderately ‘wrong’….unlike some of the others where I wasn’t in the same ball park.

NORTH

sQ10652
h1863
d1109
cQ83

WEST

s874
h19
d1AKJ876542
c

EAST

sA3
h1AQ7
d1Q3
cA97642

SOUTH

sKJ9
h1KJ10542
d1
cKJ105

At one table: 5D P 6D Dble. At the other: 5D P 7D Dble.

My thoughts were that if it was a cashing trick running away it would be in your long suit, so lead spades as the tempo might be most important there. Also, given that dummy is likely to have a source of tricks, it isn’t going to be in spades.

If Burrows-Livingston had made 7D I guess you’d say they got lucky. Their chances of doing so are all to do with the lead….

I’ll quote Michael’s analysis:

On a spade or diamond lead, it needs diamonds 1-1 (52%) and clubs 4-3 (62%) ie 32% or the heart hook (50%) – A total of 68%. On a Club lead you are looking good – clubs 4-3 (62%) or even 5-2 (30%) if diamonds are 1-1. A total of 78%. A heart lead though means you have to Hook at trick 1. ie 50%. There aren’t really any squeeze chances.

So it was my lead. I took partner’s double to mean “lead something clever” but I couldn’t think of anything. It put me off a spade lead, but in the end I couldn’t see how a trump could be wrong. I wasn’t really considering the disastrous club lead.

Advertisements

Entry filed under: defence. Tags: .

NZ Playoff continued Play problem

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. khokan  |  May 11, 2009 at 1:56 pm

    The actual layout hadn’t occurred to me at all. I was expecting something along the lines of the following:


    AKQJxx
    Kxx
    Kxxx

    xxx
    x
    AQJxxxxx
    x

    where north puts west to the guess on which ace to lead.

    However, the actual layout makes some sense but, like Ben and Phil, I’m not sure why partner is doubling (either 6D or 7D).

    Reply
  • 2. Ben Thompson  |  May 11, 2009 at 1:15 pm

    Was double for takeout?

    Reply
    • 3. cathychua  |  May 11, 2009 at 2:46 pm

      Good question! My system card says take out doubles to the seven level (no higher), but I’ve never used one, so I don’t know how it turns out. I guess 7S is six down….

      Reply
  • 4. phil markey  |  May 11, 2009 at 12:46 pm

    i think you can be reasonably sure holding the south cards that they arent diving – that makes double look dumb

    over 6 diamonds doubled i think east has a redouble – particularly if he knows his customer – i have found a redouble in spots like this where i have correctly judged that my opponent has mistaken my slowness in bidding as uncertainty as to whether more was right – ie when in fact bidding 6 diamonds is fairly auto and your tank is because your wondering if you can find a way to bid 7

    Reply
  • 5. khokan  |  May 11, 2009 at 8:48 am

    Whoops!! Can someone find me a rock?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers


%d bloggers like this: