To save or not to save, continued.

May 19, 2009 at 10:51 pm 7 comments

Note: in posts where problems are presented comments are suppressed temporarily so, you know, there’s no cribbing answers…For the thoughts on this problem, go to yesterday’s post where comments are now posted.

NS vul
Dealer East

NORTH

sKQJ1043
h1J4
d1102
cJ83

WEST

s
h1Q987632
d1J
cK10754

EAST

s762
h1K105
d1Q9843
cQ6

SOUTH

sA985
h1A
d1AK765
cA92

The question was, whether or not to save on these auctions:

West…North…East…South
………………..P……..1D
3H……3S……4H……..6S
?

and in the other room:

West…North…East…South
………………..P…….1C
4H…….Dble…..5H…..6S
?

It seems to easy to bid on. It’s what happened in both rooms, so a flat board. I guess the bottom line is that if the save looks cheap enough, then even if they are going down it isn’t the end of the world…and yet, looking at all four hands, frankly it feels like the wrong choice, doesn’t it?

Please come back tomorrow for a problem I thought was quite interesting.

Advertisements

Entry filed under: Cayne matches.

To save or not to save? 3NT vs 5 of a minor

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ben Thompson  |  May 20, 2009 at 9:16 am

    Andrew made this prescient comment on the 1st post:
    Meckwell play a bunch of bids over 3S that mean “4H with varying degrees of defence” – nice to have the negative inferences of that available now

    How much defence does East have? Awkward bits and pieces. It’d be interesting to hear where that hand slots into the Meckwell scheme.

    Still, at the end of the day, I think it’s going to be hard for West to appreciate just how important the DJ is.

    Reply
  • 2. andrew  |  May 20, 2009 at 8:21 am

    Sure, but it’s only one of the possible layouts supporting the auction, and it looks like both N & S have their worst hands for it. No 6th D with South. No fitting D card with North. Heart Ace, not void for control. etc.

    No regret.

    Reply
    • 3. Khokan Bagchi  |  May 20, 2009 at 10:46 am

      To me it looks as though just about all NS cards are working, with very little wastage – as for EW. Having said that, 6S is still an excellent contract and would be almost unbeatable if NS also had the C10.

      I think that there’s a lot to be said for bidding 4H (not 3H) and quitting thereafter – there’s no way that Hamman would save in this sort of auction. Imagine taking a save in front of partner and he has an unexpected trump trick. I suppose you could run a simulation, but I’m pretty sure that the spread of results would be enormous, making the “average” result almost meaningless. Maybe the only thing you can take home is that you shouldn’t save against slams at teams, as a general rule.

      Reply
      • 4. cathychua  |  May 20, 2009 at 12:11 pm

        I must say, I hate bidding in front of partner there. I guess I was partly hoping, but making a low bid, of getting to rebid clubs next and then leaving it to partner. The auction did have an unexpected velocity….

        Reply
      • 5. Khokan Bagchi  |  May 20, 2009 at 1:23 pm

        Cathy,

        I did something similar to you in the 2006 Playoffs when I held at all vul :


        x
        AQ10xxx
        QJ10xxx

        My RHO opened 1D (spades). I bid 2NT and RHO bid 3D (limit raise+ in spades). RHO now bid 4S. I elected to bid 4NT as I thought I’d have play for game opposite as little as Kxx in clubs. I bought badly and went for 1,100. I guess what I’m trying to say is that when you’ve made the opponents guess, your main shot to win the hand is when they’ve guessed wrong, rather than handing over a certain plus score. On that basis, I should have bid 4NT over 1D.

        BTW, is the second auction is a bit odd. If 1C is strong, then why is the opener bidding 6S? If he really actually opened 1D, then something more flexible than 6S seems called for.

        Reply
        • 6. cathychua  |  May 20, 2009 at 3:23 pm

          It was a Precision club opening.

          Reply
      • 7. Chris Mulley  |  May 21, 2009 at 9:59 am

        Paul and I play that in auctions where a hand has pre-empted, a double by the pre-emptor shows “a desire to bid one more”. If partner wants to defend opposite that, they can, so you don’t have to decide in front of partner. When it comes up, it seems to work quite well.

        None of that helps much here, because partner is on lead against the slam, so double should be Lightner, not to mention the fact that I am not entirely sure I WANT to take bid one more on these auctions.

        I would probably overcall 4H with this hand and might be persuaded to venture to the 5-level on some auctions, but I would leave everything else up to partner.

        Reply

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers


%d bloggers like this: