Deciding at the six level again….

May 25, 2009 at 1:56 pm 5 comments

Cayne vs Singapore
Board 5
Dealer North
NS Vul

NORTH

sQ873
h1A4
d1J64
cAQJ10

WEST

sA64
h1Q1032
d1A10872
c5

EAST

sKJ10952
h187
d1Q953
c9

SOUTH

s
h1KJ965
d1K
cK876432

This hand is from Singapore vs Cayne on Saturday. The question was, with that West hand, after the auction 1C…3S…6C….do you bid? Bridgeboy passed but various people, whom I guess had already seen the hand, told him he should have bid on. Well, yes, I would have too if I’d seen the hands. Personally it isn’t clear to me that this save is going to be particularly cheap, especially if the club shortage is duplicated.

I thought it auto to pass. Simon same and so too the panel – even a double! – but no bidders on.

It was a big loss when this happened in the other room:

West……North…..East…..South
………….1NT……2D……..3D
Dble……Pass…….3S……..4C
4S………5C……….5S………6C
Dble……Pass……6S………Pass
Pass……Dble……All Pass

So, unlucky result, brought on by the fits of guilt of East in this room thinking he didn’t have his bid and that partner would be playing him for tricks!?

It does seem to be a theme at the moment – 6 level decisions with unlikely numbers of aces. On the weekend too came this one:

s76
h1AQ87632
d1A764
c

All vulnerable, sitting West:

West…..North…..East…..South
……………………3S……..Dble
4S……..6C……….Pass…..Pass
?

Would it be the biggest surprise in the world to be making six spades opposite a vulnerable 3S bid? Especially with the heart finesse most likely to be working? Not that I’m trying to talk you into anything here….

Entry filed under: Cayne matches.

Deciding at the six level. Still at the six level.

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Khokan Bagchi  |  May 27, 2009 at 12:35 am

    Again, this hand initially feels like even 5C is going down. However, the fact that the opposition have bid 6C freely must greatly increase their likelihood of making the contract. Therefore, I pass with the hope that we’re beating 6C. Bidding 6S on this hand, even if it makes, looks like a partnership-breaker to me.

    Reply
  • 2. Ben Thompson  |  May 26, 2009 at 4:29 pm

    I’d be very surprised if 6S were making.

    Partner shouldn’t really have solid spades. Righty would have overcalled 3NT with a spade stopper, so I reckon lefty has the SA. I don’t think just SK would float his boat because he’s obviously short of aces.

    So I expect they could lead a spade, a diamond or a club and have a fair shot of beating us up in 6S. Maybe even a heart.

    On the other hand, I doubt that they’re making 6C. Maybe LHO is void in a red suit, but it’s by no means required. If he is something like 3046, then maybe partner is getting a diamond ruff, or has a club trick (maybe Qxx will score when it shouldn’t!), or maybe I’m just plain wrong about the spade layout and partner’s SA is cashing.

    I wheel out the cube.

    Reply
    • 3. khokan  |  May 27, 2009 at 9:29 am

      I don’t get why partner shouldn’t have solid spades.

      Reply
      • 4. Ben Thompson  |  May 27, 2009 at 12:57 pm

        It’s not that I think partner isn’t allowed to have solid spades, it’s just that I think the auction says he’s unlikely to have solid spades.

        I like to play 3NT openings as any solid suit, so I would only have 6 spades if they were solid, but in somebody else’s auction I have no problem allowing them to have 7 solid.

        If lefty’s spade control is shortage, then righty would have some length. And lefty has done the jumping to slam, and I have a decent hand, so I don’t think righty has a great hand. So how does righty construct a takeout double with a marginal hand with the wrong shape? I don’t think he does. That said, I wouldn’t come close to doubling with his actual hand, so what do I know?

        Is lefty inferring spade shortage in partner’s hand? Maybe, but he’s obviously lacking side suit aces, so he would have to worry about losing a spade and an ace for a really dumb 1-off. Or a spade and a random other trick for a nearly-as-dumb 1-off. I don’t think that’s what’s happening.

        So I expect lefty’s spade control is honour-based. It obviously would have to be the A or the K. As I said, I don’t think the SK is good enough when he clearly doesn’t have side-suit aces, so my bet was that his spade control would be the A.

        Reply
      • 5. khokan  |  May 27, 2009 at 1:45 pm

        Ben,

        I’ve constructed a plausible layout in the following blog. I still think that the fact that the opposition have voluntarily bid slam (assuming sanity), then that makes beating the slam much less likely.

        Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers


