Still on Planet Cayne and a lot rides on this lead.

June 1, 2009 at 7:49 am 13 comments

The selection post has to wait, I have some hands to present….

Yep, you are still on Planet Cayne, to be sung to the tune of the B52s’ Planet Clare.

The words:

Ahhhahhahhahh

She came from Planet Cayne
I knew she came from there
She drove a Plymouth Satellite
Faster than the speed of light

Planet Cayne has pink air
All the trees are red
No one ever dies there
No one has a head

Ahhhahhhahhahh

Some say she’s from Mars
Or one of the seven stars
That shine after 3:30 in the morning
WELL SHE ISN’T

Ahhhahhhahhahhahhahh

The music – for those who don’t already know it – can be found here:

I don’t know about the concept that no one’s ever died there. It felt a bit like we did in this match…..

Nil Vul you pick up:

sK4
h1J10865
d1KJ4
cK96

and this happens to you, sitting East:

West….North….East……South
Pass…..1S…….Double…Redble
3NT……Pass….Pass…..Dble
4C……..4S……Pass……Pass
Dble…..All Pass

What is partner’s 3NT bid, as a passed hand?
For a big swing, what do you lead?

Entry filed under: Cayne matches.

Too hard for me, continued Still on Planet Cayne…what do you lead?

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Peter Gill  |  June 2, 2009 at 12:54 am

    Perhaps partner is 4-6 in the black suits: Axxx, x, xx, AJ10xxx?
    If so, is it better to lead C6 or CK? I’m trying CK. But this is too hard for me. If partner has Q7xx, x, xx, AQJxxx then we probably won’t shorten declarer’s trumps in time – perhaps I need to lead hearts and give him two ruffs to beat 4!SX, but on my sample hand the Dbl of 4S is too rich for my blood. I try CK.

    Reply
  • 2. Jonathan  |  June 1, 2009 at 6:34 pm

    I guess partner has Q9xx — xx AQxxxxx He must have a 3C bid he
    was disciplined in not making. I shall lead my lowest heart.

    Reply
  • 3. phil markey  |  June 1, 2009 at 2:39 pm

    i suspect if its my pard he forgot to open 2 spades (showing black suits) or 3 clubs

    maybe he has a 4036 – stupid pard

    cant really hit 4 spades on the basis of his trump holding because he doesnt have one even if he does have 4 – he shouldnt be hitting it with high cards long clubs and no trumps so maybe i should be leading the heart 5

    Reply
  • 4. Ron Lel  |  June 1, 2009 at 1:08 pm

    I believe that partner’s 3NT bid shows some sort of minor 2 suiter. This appears to be borne out by the run out to 4C after the double. Bidding 3NT to play on this auction makes no sense.
    I don’t think I am going to get rich in the C suit on this hand, so I will lead the small D to try and develop some tricks there.

    Reply
  • 5. Nigel Kearney  |  June 1, 2009 at 10:04 am

    My best guess is partner has long clubs and probably Jxxx or Txxx of spades.

    I lead a club to start forcing declarer otherwise he may be able to use the red suits to reach 10 tricks.

    Reply
  • 6. Ben Thompson  |  June 1, 2009 at 9:11 am

    You say “this happens to you”, but we’re part of the fun. I’m not convinced that it’s obligatory to make a takeout double, particularly of spades, with a square piece of junk.

    I think 3NT is a source of tricks and a spade stopper (and a bit), and unsuitable for opening. When he chickened out in 4C, he named the source of tricks. Maybe something like Axx x Axx Qxxxxx. Adjust to suit your style.

    The obvious defensive plans are get some heart ruffs or cash some diamonds. North is unlikely to have a pile of club losers. I don’t know which diamond to lead, so I go for the heart ruff plan (leading a low one for the club entry). I may get a second chance at the cash diamonds plan.

    Reply
    • 7. cathychua  |  June 2, 2009 at 10:19 am

      Ben, Yes, I love that idea. Take responsibility, don’t be a victim. You chose to double, now be a man about it. Very good.

      But still, I don’t see how 3NT can be a possible call with a long source of tricks unless you know you aren’t running. Maybe QJx xx xx AKxxxx (though I would not pass that to begin with, but maybe others would). Surely with a good hand with options you have to do something cooperative, not a series of wild, unilateral guesses.

      Reply
      • 8. Ben Thompson  |  June 2, 2009 at 11:38 am

        I’m increasingly convinced that even world-class players are perfectly capable of screwing up almost any auction by themselves, and with surprising frequency. As a result, I’m quite comfortable passing middling hands that aren’t quite right for either a pre-empt or an opening.

        My example hand (Axx x Axx Qxxxxx) is openable, but I can imagine partner passing, and then being prepared to try 3NT when it’s cheap, but being unprepared to play it for real money.

        I could argue that opening this hand 3C would be a wild unilateral guess, whereas passing then ripping 3NT to 4C is a reasonable attempt to score points followed by a judicious dose of risk-aversion.

        By the way, if you really do open every single 6 card club suit with moderate values, and 3NT is clearly for the minors, I lead a heart really quickly, regardless of the final X.

        Also, even if 3NT is minors, I would still insist that it is an offer to play. Hamman had something sensible to say about odd-looking 3NT bids.

        Reply
        • 9. cathychua  |  June 2, 2009 at 1:19 pm

          But why would you guess to bid 3NT on Axx x Axx Qxxxxx? Why not a slow constructive auction? Why two complete guesses? In fact on the hand you give might not diamonds be the right contract too?

          Reply
          • 10. Ben Thompson  |  June 2, 2009 at 2:11 pm

            Well, let me answer a question with a question.

            What slow constructive auction would you like to have? Not opposite partner’s actual hand, but in a general sense.

            And another question. I presume you would open this hand a free wheelin’ 3C. Might not spades be the right strain? Or diamonds?

            Most of bidding is a guess. That’s the nature of a partial information game. If you open 1S with QJ109xx Axx x Axx, you’re guessing that the spades aren’t stacked over you and that you won’t get cubed up and carted out. The point is not that you are guessing, but how big an unnecessary guess you are making.

            As I said earlier, adjust the hand to suit your style, but in principle, bidding 3NT as a passed hand looks like a punt, and ripping it looks like nothing so much as knowing a bit of Shakespeare.

            Reply
  • 11. Bill Jacobs  |  June 1, 2009 at 8:58 am

    I lead a heart. Not sure which one, not sure that it matters.

    Perhaps partner’s passed-hand 3NT should be minors? Unless she miscountered her points the first time round …

    So 3-0-5-5 or 2-0-5-6 shape.

    Reply
    • 12. cathychua  |  June 2, 2009 at 10:19 am

      Excuse me Bill, I’m wondering how you knew to use ‘she’….

      Reply
      • 13. Bill Jacobs  |  June 3, 2009 at 7:21 am

        I take every opportunity I can to make sexist comments. I.e. women are more likely to miscount their points than men. Call me quirky.

        Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers


