Purely with a view to irritating Sartaj….

June 4, 2009 at 7:38 pm 6 comments

Playing in the VCC just now, I’ve had three preempts so far.

s84
h1K109743
d1A
c10985

3H opening + 9 IMPs

sJ109642
h16
d1Q105
cKQ5

3S opening +8 IMPs

s7
h1J86532
d1Q7643
cK

3H opening + 10 IMPs.

Oh, actually, what are everybody’s thoughts on this:

s872
h1104
d1A654
cJ874

Nil vul your partner opens 2H, at least Acol and forcing to game unless the suit is rebid over a negative. The auction proceeds:

West…..North…..East…..South
……………………2H…….4S
Pass….Pass……5H…….Pass
Pass…..5S……..Pass….Pass
???

You might want to know, as far as style goes, that your partner is intrepid. She knows no fear.

Entry filed under: bidding.

Warning. Kiddy playing in the middle of the street. That Acol two….

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jonathan  |  June 5, 2009 at 6:04 pm

    I shall double. I’m not even sure the pass is forcing.

    What would a double of 4S from me have been?
    Partner could nevertheless have doubled, bid 4NT or 5minor.
    I expect +300, but if you offered me +100 blind, I’d take it..

    Never mind partner – I have enough fear for us both.

    Reply
  • 2. Chris Mulley  |  June 5, 2009 at 4:24 pm

    In a bid to be provocative, I notice that you are playing in the Women’s in the VCC. Do you think the results on the pre-empt hands might be positively influenced (perhaps literally) by the field that you were in?

    Reply
  • 3. Richard  |  June 5, 2009 at 3:08 pm

    I guess I’m just chicken. I’m doubling.

    Reply
  • 4. sartaj  |  June 5, 2009 at 10:44 am

    More amused than irritated, dear cathy.

    Preempts work. No doubt. And the weaker the field, the better they work. (Mr. Cayne’s double on 2542 shape on a hand you covered recently, for example). “Weak” covers a lot of ground. Most Australian open teams even fall into this category, on a world plane.

    And even the unAustralian me would open a 3M preempt on bd 1 if non-vul, and on bd 2 and b3 if dlr at favourable. What was the vul at the table ?

    Reply
  • 5. Chris Mulley  |  June 5, 2009 at 10:11 am

    I am not so interested in partner as I am in the opponents. Continuing on from Jonathan’s comment yesterday, you should respect the opponents as well. Why would LHO be trying to push us to a making slam at this vulnerability?

    Thus we have a quandry. Has partner taken this into account already in making the slam invite? If so, an Ace together with sufficient trumps to reduce the probability of a nasty surprise there to practically zero is enough for me to bid slam. If not, I think I would need another card in one of the minors.

    Also, to what extent is LHO trying to goad my “intrepid” partner into action? Surely LHO knows that I am not susceptible to such provocation, but what about partner? Then again, against such a partner, this auction is probably the way in which LHO would bid it to play spades doubled at the cheapest possible level, as an immediate 5S would provoke our intrepid partner into simply bidding 6H over it.

    Knowing nothing about the opponents, I would double 5S. If LHO is someone whose thought processes I think I know and definitely respect, I would succumb to the temptation of bidding 6H … because my excuse has already been prepared (above). If LHO is a good opponent who I know and don’t respect, I would double 5S, because they are trying to provoke a 6H bid.

    Finally, a bit of bidding theory (see – something for everyone!). I like to use 4NT by the Acol 2 in this auction to show a “good” 5H bid – one that is bidding 5H to make and sets up a “forcing” auction over 5S. A 5H bid initially (like the one partner has made) would be a hand which did not want to set up a forcing auction over 5S and so is in no way inviting 6 and in fact was probably diving over 4S. If I can use that inference, I probably don’t even have enough to double. OK – it means that I can’t just wield Blackwood in these auctions. Which do you think is more useful?

    Having never played Acol twos but having seen what some people in WA bid them on (x KQJxxxxx KQx x), I am wary. I am presuming that I have convinced partner to play a sensible version where it is “8 playing tricks, but also defence”.

    Reply
  • 6. Bill Jacobs  |  June 5, 2009 at 9:00 am

    Partner’s volunteered 5H, and then pass over 5S, really encourages me to bid 6H. It looks like he is void in spades.

    Playing imps, I’m prepared to accept -100 or so when we could have had +100 or so, to protect against either 5S or 6H making.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers


