Warning. Kiddy playing in the middle of the street.

June 4, 2009 at 7:14 am 4 comments

I’d pictured bunches of kiddies on this deal, but it’s just the one, sitting in the hot seat, Max Henbest. I had kind of figured that if a junior did ever give me a hand for this blog it would contain at last 4 voids….and I was right.

His problem was this:

sAKQ10xxx
h1AJ10987
d1
c

RHO opens 1H and you have to figure out something sensible to do.

Evidently the David Attenborough team caught this junior wandering out of his natural habitat, mixing with a pack of mature sharks. Gasps from the audience. Will the little junior survive or will the pack of sharks smell blood and go for the kill.

NORTH

s—-
h1—-
d1AJ10xxxx
cKJ109xx

WEST

sJ98xx
h1xx
d1Qx
cQxxxx

EAST

sx
h1KQxxx
d1Kxxx
cAxx

SOUTH

sAKQ10xxx
h1AJ10987
d1
c

Max did overcall 6S and he’s in good company as you can see from the comment last post. But when LHO shark, whom I am given to understand was Grant Kilvington, doubled…Max redoubled!!! Oh, to be a junior again.

West…North…East…South
………………….1H…..6S
Dble….Pass…..Pass..Redouble
All Pass

West led a small heart and although RHO did put up an honour, this still meant declarer went two down: 1 heart and 2 spades.

I think we can all sympathise with Max for shopping so badly but the redouble….I can’t see that eliciting any company. Still, over to the you all for comments.

As many will know the VCC starts today, I’m leaving to play in an hour. I will hope to have something up tomorrow. Please come back and check.

Entry filed under: bidding.

It’s bridge, Kirk, you’re just too old to remember. Purely with a view to irritating Sartaj….

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jonathan  |  June 4, 2009 at 6:57 pm

    I don’t agree that redouble is a truly dreadful bid, although I do agree it’s wrong. Assuming in the other room the contract is
    also 6Sx and that this contract either makes or goes one off,
    then you are gaining 410 if it makes or losing 100 if it doesn’t.
    (I assume we’re non-vul). So you might redouble doubtful contracts on the grounds of attractive odds. The odds change severely when as here there is a significant possibility of two off.

    What is important though is to respect your opponents. They know you’re not an idiot and have bid 6S to make. Would they double with xxx Q Axxx Axxxx? They’d know they shouldn’t but they might. Much more likely your sharks are disciplined and have an unexpected trump trick. So yes, maybe redouble is dreadful after all, but only because of the serious chance of two down. 3 down is unlucky….

    So how would the rest of us have done on this hand? Those who pass first time will hear 1S on their left and be delighted
    with their cunning….until partner bids 4NT. What now!!!!?
    Pass?

    The 1S bidders may get doubled in 5S. I fear I might redouble
    that and would do no better than your junior…
    So I’d be -600, while the 6S punters are -500.

    Reply
    • 2. Chris Mulley  |  June 5, 2009 at 9:35 am

      I don’t know that I would be leaping out of my skin to respond 1S with that collection – put me down as a pass for a bidding forum holding that hand.

      If the auction goes as you suggest, RHO will probably make a penalty interest double (at least, I would). I think after that I would be taking the smallest lumps I can manage, and with my hand, that looks like 5Sx. I’m not sending that one back!

      If I did overcall 1S and got doubled in 5S, I would be sending it back too, unless I was worried on the auction that they would bid 6m.

      Reply
  • 3. Chris Mulley  |  June 4, 2009 at 10:13 am

    I think you might be a bit generous calling this “the middle of the road”. This kiddie has followed his favourite puppy into a very dark alley and has had to pay the consequences.

    Will it teach him not to do it again? Of course not. Back before my day, kiddies had to learn these lessons playing rubber bridge for money. Now there are no muggers in the alley, just parents telling him what a stupid thing it is to run into a dark alley. Nowadays we just have to wait for the getting of wisdom. For some of us, it still hasn’t come …

    Reply
    • 4. cathychua  |  June 4, 2009 at 6:18 pm

      Chris, totally with you.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers


