One for Harry P. fans

June 19, 2009 at 3:09 pm 3 comments

I noticed this hand in an old article about the 2003 ANC.

Round 13 vs. WA: Board 12 2nd RR – Dealer W NS Vul
North: Simon Hinge
South: Cathy Chua
West: Henry Christie
East: Ron Cooper

NORTH

sAQ732
h16
d1A7642
c85

WEST

s85
h1J10987
d1105
cA1032

EAST

sK1094
h143
d1KQ83
c764

SOUTH

sJ6
h1 AKQ52
d1J9
cKQJ9

‘Sorry’, said Gold-Ebery when we came to score up this hand. They had let 3NT through when it should probably be defeated. No matter. At our table North opened 1S and rebid 3D, not aware that this was a high reverse. South bid to 6NT and East doubled. West led….

Has anybody out there tried to invoke ‘The Room of Requirement’? It will, apparently, be familiar to Harry Potter fans. It is a special room that you can only find when you are in really urgent need of something. For example, if you desperately needed to go to the toilet, you might come across a room filled with chamber pots. I needed a dummy. I thought hard about dummies. I closed my eyes. And lo, I entered a room full of baby pacifiers.

I have no intention of a blow-by-blow account of this hand. Suffice to say Henry got thrown in at the end to give me my ninth trick. -800. Could the curse of evil Lord Voldemort be happening again? I don’t have much idea of what happened in the rest of the match. I recall Ron looking more cheerful than I would have liked, but that’s about it. Still, it scored up alright and with a round to go VIC was actually locked in. It would take many, many, many frivolous appeals to keep us out of the final now…

I haven’t actually ever read a Harry Potter book, so I have no idea where my research came from….

See you on Monday.

Entry filed under: humour.

At the two level continued. Cayned by Cayne

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jonathan  |  June 19, 2009 at 11:33 pm

    Speaking as someone who HAS read them, I think the best thing to do would be to wave my wand and cry OBLIVIATE!

    You’d thank me for it, if you could remember…

    Reply
    • 2. cathychua  |  June 20, 2009 at 7:21 am

      Well, having never read them, I have nothing to remember. Unless the concept that I would remember without having read them is somehow linked to the idea of the books. If so, you will understand that I don’t understand.

      Reply
      • 3. Jonathan Mestel  |  June 22, 2009 at 6:28 am

        OBLIVIATE is a magic spell for causing people to forget things. You used to know this, but naturally no longer
        can recollect it…and compensate by believing you never read them.

        [This is what I meant by “if you could remember…” it
        was a slight and laboured attempt at humour.]

        Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


