Dick on Defence

July 29, 2009 at 9:10 am 1 comment

Years ago when I lived in Sydney Dick Cummings asked me to organise his bridge writings into book form. The obvious start, it seemed to me, was something on defence as this was really Dick’s special subject. In his youth, touring Europe and the UK in the late 1950s (if memory serves me correctly) one hand in particular stood out where Dick broke up a squeeze in defence.

It might not sound special now, but defence was still a primitive business. Almost nothing had been written on it. I’m not suggesting that he was the first person to do this, but the articulation of it was new at the time. He did it on purpose, no doubt after one of those deep thinks Dick was famous for. Maybe I reproduced the hand in my history of Australian bridge? I don’t have a copy about, so I can’t check.

At the time nothing came of the book. Noticing the material is still with me, I thought I’d present some of this hands here. Please come back tomorrow for the first one.

Entry filed under: Dick Cummings. Tags: , , .

History made at the Interstate Dick on Defence I

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers


