Staying ahead in the game

August 13, 2009 at 7:02 am 2 comments

So I’m sitting there, playing Cayne, it’s the second to last board, we are still just a few IMPs up despite my smart-arsed 4S on board 18 (see last post), but why or why did I make that bid? Sartaj is probably NEVER going to play with me. (Sartaj, believe me, I don’t even KNOW where the pub is.) It’s all going bad.

Then…

Bd 27
Dlr South
Vul: Nil

WEST

s6
h1K107
d1K6542
cK1043

EAST

sA8
h1Q94
d1AQJ3
cQ952

West………North……..East…….South
David B……Ollina…….CC………..JEC
……………………………………….Pass
Pass……….Pass……..1C……….2C (Michaels)
3D*………..3S…………4D……….4S
5C…………Dble……….5D……….All Pass

*3D fit-showing.

Opening lead: S10.

I’d say this is easy, but last time I thought that, nobody did the thing I expected…

Entry filed under: Cayne matches.

Weak twos continued Staying ahead in the game concluded.

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dave  |  August 13, 2009 at 10:28 pm

    Looks like south is 6511 (no 4S preempt), but I doubt it matters much.

    Win SA, draw two rounds of trumps with the AK. Play a heart to the Queen (and Ace I presume). A heart comes back (as good as anything) and I finesse the ten. Draw the last trump with the DQ, and cash the HK.

    5 card ending KTxx opp Q9xx and a trump in both hands. Exit with the CK and either opponent will be endplayed – North to play away from their CJ or South for the ruff and sluff (ruff in the West hand to hook the CJ).

    I agree that it was an easy hand. Unless I got it wrong. In which case it’s a very difficult hand.

    Reply
  • 2. phil markey  |  August 13, 2009 at 12:06 pm

    i win draw some trumps whilst organising to ruff my spade and play south for the hearts – dunno when i make or not but i figure the club position is becoming pregnant

    i’m confident you wouldnt even get told off for that 4 spade bid if i was east (particularly given my complicity)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers


