What’s the right action with this?

August 31, 2009 at 7:53 pm 6 comments

First in hand not vul vs vul you pick up:

sQ1074
h17
d1AQ109753
cJ

What do you think?

Entry filed under: Cayne matches.

Doing a Ponting What’s the right action with this? Concluded.

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nigel Kearney  |  September 1, 2009 at 4:05 pm

    Pass.

    As preempts go, this is a too huge a dummy for a spade contract. I would prefer to be vul vs not and open 3D so partner can bid 3H or 3S if he has them, but I can’t really open 3D at this vulnerability given the other hands I might have.

    Values a bit too concentrated for 1D but that would be my second choice.

    Reply
  • 2. sartaj  |  September 1, 2009 at 12:16 pm

    4D.
    Second choice 1D.

    Reply
  • 3. Ben Thompson  |  September 1, 2009 at 11:48 am

    In my current methods, I would open 2D – 10-13 with 5+ diamonds, not 5332.

    Vulnerable, I would quite happily open 3D. So you have a side major. Big deal. Even with a spade fit, diamonds could still be the right strain. And Vul, 3D gets across the playing strength pretty well without over-emphasizing high cards.

    Without being able to open 2D, I would probably open 5D at this ink, or maybe 1D, depending on how twitchy the opponents look. 1D all green.

    Reply
  • 4. Chris Mulley  |  September 1, 2009 at 9:55 am

    I can appreciate the arguments for opening 1D, to the point that at another vulnerability I would probably do it.

    At this vulnerability, I am going to pitch my first curve-ball by opening 4D. My second curveball will be to bid 4S if I get the chance to over either opponent’s 4H bid … although if RHO bids 4H I might make an “action” double so as not to perform a sign-change on the 800 for which someone might be booked

    5D would not get a $2 palooka fine from me either, no matter how badly it turned out on the hand.

    I think it is important to strike the right balance between pressure and lunacy, and at this vulnerability it gets skewed a little bit towards the “lunacy” side for me. I don’t have Phil’s gadget, so I have to go my own way, with the greater risks involved.

    Reply
  • 5. phil markey  |  August 31, 2009 at 9:01 pm

    i get to open 2 diamonds showing 4-5 spades and 4+ diamonds and not enough to open – i will push to bid diamonds again which shows things like this

    if not my usual system then i think its an auto 1 diamond

    passing is plainly an act of cowardly risk adverse compromise which is a sure long term loser – so the issue is where on the continuum of bids you can open does this hand fit ?

    someone is going to say that its bad to open this hand 3 diamonds because you might lose a spade fit – well yeah you might but i think that is only a tiny bit of the best answer such that your actually talking nonsense – the real issues are; what do you open 3 diamonds ? and; what do you open 1 diamond ?

    Reply
    • 6. Peter Gill  |  September 5, 2009 at 7:41 pm

      I rather like 4D.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers


