Vs Cayne…I loved this.

September 14, 2009 at 8:10 am 4 comments

You pick up:

sQ85
h1AKJ1073
d1Q3
c75

and have to decide what to open. Before you start on: ‘what do you mean, decide?’ let’s suppose you spent years listening to and playing bridge with Seres several times a week. To him this hand is flat, end of story. It’s flat, it’s rubbish. If he’d ever been made to play Acol I think 1NT would be his choice here. Every time I haven’t listened to his advice – ‘why would you want to try to take ten tricks with this hand when you could go for nine?’ – I’ve regretted it. I thought, further, something about playing the hand the right way up. Come on, kiddo, let’s protect those queens. So…1NT.

It is hard to say whether the subsequent auction development was good or bad for me. Partner bid 2NT transfer to diamonds. I bid 3D, don’t like it. And he bid 3H!!! Natural game-forcing. I raised, he blackwooded and there I was putting down my dummy in an embarrassed fashion, not least because it turns out the LAST thing I’d done is protect my queens. I had to open 1H to do that….

Vs Cayne
Board 23
Dealer South
All vul

NORTH

sJ63
h1
d1KJ10865
cJ632

WEST

sQ85
h1AKJ1073
d1Q3
c75

EAST

sK
h1Q982
d1A9742
cAKQ

SOUTH

sA109742
h1654
d1
c10984

As you can see, cold. Well, cold as long as I’m not playing it. In the other room Neil Ewart opened the South cards 2D, multi. Now West overcalled in hearts and East bid slam via blackwood. Neil lightner-doubled that, hoping partner would find the opening diamond lead. Indeed Blaine Howe did. At the time we were a few IMPs behind, but the 17 IMPs this board generated saw us take the lead which we comfortably held for the rest of the match.

Entry filed under: Cayne matches.

On caring about the result. A Cayne grandslam…or not.

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. khokan  |  September 15, 2009 at 12:15 pm

    On the positive side, I recall Courtney/Gill, at the Cavendish, reaching 3NT with a 6-4 heart fit after a similar opening bid. 3NT was unbeatable and 4H had no play. Courtney/Gill finished 5th, a great result.

    On the downside, the same pair opened an offshape 1NT against me in the 1997 Playoff. I overcalled and my LHO bid 3NT. My RHO got a bit queasy and pulled to 4H, which had 4 top losers, while 3NT was cold. I guess the moral here is that you should stick to your plan.

    Reply
  • 2. Bill Jacobs  |  September 14, 2009 at 3:32 pm

    For what it’s worth, Zia opened a similar hand 1NT in the 1981 Bermuda Bowl final. Something like Kxx-AKQxxx-xx-Jx.

    His partner, with with a big minor two-suiter, forced to slam in a minor – unsuccessfully.

    Reply
  • 3. phil markey  |  September 14, 2009 at 11:17 am

    whats not to like about diamonds ?

    i dont like blackwood over 4 hearts – after you dont like diamonds its way unlikely you have a hand that makes slam good

    Reply
  • 4. Richard  |  September 14, 2009 at 11:02 am

    It’s lovely when it works, but it usually doesn’t. The last time I saw this I was dummy. We bid 1NT-3NT and I watched the opponents casually cash the first six tricks, with 4H cold of course.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers


