A lot rides on this.

September 22, 2009 at 7:44 am 7 comments

Sitting West you pick up:

s2
h110765
d1QJ85
cAJ108

West….North….East….South
…………………………..1S
Pass…..4NT…..5C……..Pass (one keycard)
6C……..6S…….Dble…..All Pass

What do you lead? I’m suppressing comments for now….look forward to everybody’s thoughts!

Entry filed under: defence.

Apportion the blame. A lot rides on this…continued.

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. beterbieden  |  September 22, 2009 at 5:39 pm

    North must have kings & singletons for his immediate keycard ask. I’ll start CA, expecting it will hold.

    Reply
  • 2. Nigel Kearney  |  September 22, 2009 at 4:30 pm

    Low heart. Partner should be at least prepared for a non-club lead after the double. If he has a diamond void we may still beat it.

    Reply
  • 3. Richard  |  September 22, 2009 at 1:15 pm

    I hate this one. It sounds like a red card is needed, but I can’t figure out which one. Maybe I’ll try the QD.

    Reply
  • 4. Bill Jacobs  |  September 22, 2009 at 12:05 pm

    I lead the club ace. Presumably, given the Blackwood, it cashes. Now I give partner a ruff.

    If gunning for two down, I would lead the low heart. Partner is more likely to be void in hearts than diamonds, as dummy is more likely to have a running suit for his bidding. However, it’s not certain.

    I would bid
    KQxx – A – AKxxxxx – x
    the same way North did.

    Reply
  • 5. david appleton  |  September 22, 2009 at 12:00 pm

    Not a club. I think a heart is least likely to be evil.

    So, what does double mean?
    I’d think it asks you not to save, rather than being lightner.

    On the off chance it was a lightner double, if this is one for diamonds, I’m likely to have a deep trick there anyway, so no need for that ruff, hence I try a heart.

    david

    Reply
  • 6. khokan  |  September 22, 2009 at 10:31 am

    On second thoughts, if north is honest, then the CA should live. This gives us a chance to make the right switch at trick two, although it means that a two-trick set is much less likely.

    I seem to recall that both teams racked up 6Sx.

    Reply
  • 7. khokan  |  September 22, 2009 at 9:45 am

    I lead a heart because, if partner is ruffing a diamond, I may make one or two diamond tricks later, anyway. This hand is suspiciously similar to a hand my team played against yours in the NOT Quarters. I believe the NS hands were:

    AKxx
    AKQJxx
    xx
    x

    QJ109xxx
    xxx
    AK
    x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


