Careful does it.

October 7, 2009 at 9:09 am 5 comments

WEST

sA932
h1KQJ8642
d1A
c5

EAST

sK876
h1
d1K6543
cQ973

Sitting West the auction is:

West…..North….East….South
……………………………Pass
1H……..2NT……Pass….3C
3H……..All Pass

North begins with the ace of clubs and then a diamond to the queen and your ace.

What’s your plan? (Comments suppressed for today)

Entry filed under: Cayne matches.

Forever anonymous Careful does it. Answer.

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jonathan  |  October 8, 2009 at 12:45 am

    Looks right to duck a heart. Might even get a double squeeze going
    one day.

    Reply
  • 2. phil markey  |  October 7, 2009 at 2:26 pm

    2155 seems a favourite so – ace of spades – spade to the king – cash the king of diamonds pitching a spade – ruff a club – low heart from hand – is my initial plan

    Reply
  • 3. khokan  |  October 7, 2009 at 12:38 pm

    Following on from my previous response, if north plays a spade honour on the SA and returns a diamond on winning the HA, I don’t pitch a spade, but ruff the diamond instead. I can then endlay south with a spade to give me the entries needed to effect a coup on south.

    Reply
  • 4. khokan  |  October 7, 2009 at 12:34 pm

    I would have bid 4H over 3C. The west hand looks like an 8-9 trick hand to me.

    I cash the SA before playing the HK from hand. If north is 1-1 in the majors with the stiff HA, they may be forced to give dummy another entry to ruff a card if trumps split really badly.

    Reply
  • 5. Ben Thompson  |  October 7, 2009 at 9:59 am

    You didn’t say North shifted to the DJ, so it looks like diamonds are 5-2.

    I can afford to lose 2 heart tricks, but not 3. At first glance, it’s attractive to lead a low heart at trick 3 to protect against N having singleton A. However…

    North didn’t lead or shift to a spade, so I’m going to play him for 0 or 2 of them (if he had 3 spades, S would have all the hearts and would have doubled me in 3H).

    If North is 2-A-55, I still might have been doubled in 3H.

    If North is 0355, leading a low heart at trick 3 might let N get a spade ruff that hurts (he ditches on the SQ switch, and S plays another big one for a defensive ruffing finesse when he wins HA next).

    Hmm. Ok, I’m not doubled, so I protect against the 0355 layout and lead a big heart at trick 3. If I lose to North’s stiff A, maybe he’ll misdefend with a diamond continuation trying to give his partner a ruff (I win DK, ruff a club, cash a top heart getting the bad news, cash two spades ending in dummy, ruff another club, exit my spade loser, and duck S’s H10 continuation)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


