Two bidding problems.

October 26, 2009 at 9:10 am 3 comments

Firstly:

sx
h1109xxx
d1
cAKJ10xxx

(1) What do you respond to 1D? More questions to come on this one, but we’ll start there.

Secondly:

sK3
h1AQ9
d1AK10964
cQ2

West….North…..East….South
……………………………1C (3+)
Dble…..1S………2D…….Pass
?

Your partnership arrangement is that once they have bid 2 suits cues show, not ask for, stoppers in that suit.

Comments suppressed for now.

Entry filed under: bidding.

Bridge and the environment Two bidding problems continued.

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rainer Herrmann  |  October 27, 2009 at 12:58 am

    The first one is easy for now. 2 clubs stands out. I do not want to play hearts unless it is a nine card fit and I do not like to bid bad suits on good hands. So I am not really worried to miss hearts here.

    The second is more challenging. I would bid 3NT. I can not afford to wrongside notrump and I must preempt anyway.
    Besides what are the alternatives?
    If 3NT goes down, maybe they can make 4S. Not likely but possible.

    Reply
  • 2. Chris Mulley  |  October 26, 2009 at 5:08 pm

    On the first one, I am going to bid 2C and worry about who might have the spades later. I might end up playing this one too high, doubled, but at least I am maximising the chance of getting the the strain right. Playing these at a low level in the wrong strain is no fun either.

    With the second one, I would have overcalled 1D rather than doubling. The old “X = 16+ single suited” in these pre-emptive days has knobs on it. Partner has given us the best news possible and we STILL don’t know what to bid – I’m glad the opponents didn’t get in the way too much.

    Partner rates to have some black suit help, but it is more likely to be in spades than in clubs. I think 2S stopper showing is best in the methods given. There are going to be some further adventures in this auction, I guess. 3NT would be my second choice, but I am worried about clubs.

    Reply
  • 3. phil markey  |  October 26, 2009 at 9:21 am

    2 clubs and 3nt

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers


