This is something you don’t see every day.

April 25, 2010 at 7:06 pm 2 comments

Intrepid reporter Michael Ware interrupts his own story to be the man on the scene here. Right in the thick of it, actually. So the following is in his words.

Matchpoints Board 30. Dlr East, Nil vul

NORTH

sKQJ103
h1Q7
d1K1096
cQ7

WEST

s97
h1AK1094
d1J872
c42

EAST

s65
h1J53
d1AQ3
cJ10986

SOUTH

sA842
h1862
d154
cAK53

West…..North…..East…..South
………………………………Ware
………………………………1NT
Pass…..2H………Pass…….2S
Pass…..3NT…….Pass……4S
All Pass

I opened an 11-14 1NT, partner transferred and bid 3NT, and I corrected to 4S. This went pass, pass to East who did nothing. After waiting for him to pass for a while, my partner Barry Jones reminded him it was his bid. “oh, sorry” and he led the eight of Clubs. “No, we said it was your bid, not your lead” Director arrives and I correctly choose to accept the lead and be declarer. I run this to the Queen, and draw trumps. I cashed the Ace, King of Clubs pitching a heart from dummy and then led a diamond up. West plays low and I put up the king. East wins the Ace and plays the 10C. I ruff in dummy and lead the 10 of diamonds from dummy. East plays the JC, I follow suit and West discards the 9H! There is a slight pause as dummy I are in shock, and then before I can say anything East leads the 3H out of turn!!! Establishing both of the revokes!

Director arrives again and eventually rules us one additional trick for the revokes as the defence only made one subsequent trick.

Turns out both East and West were defending the hand in no=trumps. Both of them thought that East was cashing high clubs when in with the DA!

We’ll go back to The Last Train story tomorrow.

Advertisements

Entry filed under: thoughts on bridge.

Michael Ware on the 2010 Last Train part 2 To bid or not….

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jonathan Mestel  |  April 28, 2010 at 1:03 am

    Brilliant! I once thought of sending a spoof along similar lines to the EBU magazine, but who needs to invent things when this sort of thing happens.

    At our club, two couples sat down at a table and played
    half a board before they realised they’d sat opposite their spouses and not opposite their partners for the evening. The director almost had a fit.

    And a strong player had to lead against 5C with
    AKQxxx Qxxx Jxx — He learnedly led a low spade to his partner’s Jack so he could ruff the trump return…his partner
    worked it out and found the correct switch.

    We’re all mad, but sometimes we manage to conceal it.

    Jonathan

    Reply
  • 2. Richard09  |  April 26, 2010 at 4:43 am

    Pretty funny, but I -do- see this sort of stuff every week, in the 299er games I direct. What’s that you say? You’ve got a few master points? The opponents have played duplicate before? That is a little different, I suppose…

    Good choice on the opening lead. People are always asking me how to choose, and I hardly ever guess right, so I’m not the best one to ask.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers


%d bloggers like this: