What now?

May 20, 2010 at 6:51 pm 9 comments

IMPs, Nil Vul you pick up:

KJxx
x
xx
AKJTxx

P….1H….P….2C
2D…2H…2S…Dbl
3D…P…..P….. ?

Entry filed under: bidding.

History of Australian Bridge What now? Concluded.

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jonathan  |  May 22, 2010 at 1:09 am

    I seem to be way out on a limb here compared to everyone else.
    RHO did not overcall 1S, therefore he has a serious diamond fit
    and probably only 4 spades. Why should I be doubling 3D – won’t partner pass with a stiff? Qxx AKJxxx x Qxx perhaps?
    Say Qxx AKxxxx Ax xx opposite and 5C looks better than 3NT.
    But maybe I’m trusting opponents too much.

    Reply
    • 2. cathychua  |  May 22, 2010 at 2:53 am

      Ah Professor Mestel, I assume. No. Your partner is just balancing, there is no reason to think he has particularly good diamonds. It is merely a suggestion and you have no reason to stick it with the other hand.

      Reply
  • 3. jonathan  |  May 21, 2010 at 6:49 pm

    I can’t see 3NT being better than 5C. I could bid 5C. Or I could bid 3S-3NT-4C/5C. I think I’ll bid 5C directly.

    Reply
  • 4. Chris Mulley  |  May 21, 2010 at 2:30 pm

    It depends a bit on what the auction to this point means. Based on previous problems, I know my interpretation of these auctions is a bit different to most.

    So, my presumption is that we are NOT playing 2/1 and 2H was non-forcing if passed by RHO. It looks as though my double of 2S was penalty.

    I’m going with a penalty double. If partner sits it, at this vulnerability it’s hard to see that we are getting insufficient compensation for anything we might be missing. I will admit that I am REALLY hoping partner doesn’t lead a spade or a trump, because if there are a couple of trump entries to dummy, that could be overtrick territory.

    On the hand, I think LHO has something that looks like a good weak 2 in diamonds and RHO has AQTxx of spades with Hx or 3 diamonds. I’m hoping for a couple off where we don’t have game. I’m hoping that partner will reason the same (good spade suit; diamond fit) and will be steered away from a spade or trump lead.

    Reply
    • 5. Chris Mulley  |  May 21, 2010 at 2:34 pm

      I should also add that I am still wondering why I didn’t project RHO’s hand before I doubled 2S for penalties. Maybe I was hoping partner could bid 3NT, because partner can’t have enough diamonds to hit 3D for blood.

      Reply
  • 6. phil markey  |  May 21, 2010 at 9:48 am

    3 spades – too narrow to assume that defending 3 diamonds is best and this pretty much says “i am 4126 no diamond stopper”

    i open the dealers hand 3 diamonds so the rest of the auction is confusiing – even though i’m playing idiots i dont think i ever get to defend 2 spades so i think i prefer 3 clubs to double

    Reply
  • 7. Michael Ware  |  May 21, 2010 at 5:31 am

    At Pairs this is an easy double – hard to see where there 9 tricks are coming from and we don’t have an obvious plus. At imps, I guess I pass feeling meek. Perhaps I should have bid 3D instead of doubling 2S?

    Reply
  • 8. Richard09  |  May 21, 2010 at 12:04 am

    I’m doubling again, even at IMPs,.

    Reply
  • 9. Rainer Herrmann  |  May 20, 2010 at 7:13 pm

    3S Last train to 3NT
    Partner did not double 3D so probably has some tolerance for clubs.
    If partner can not bid 3NT over 3S we will either play game in hearts if partner rebids them for a third time or game in clubs.

    Doubling 3D does not look right to me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


