At the five level.

May 27, 2010 at 3:33 pm 4 comments

Teams
Dealer East
EW vul

EAST

sQ853
h1K4
d1A52
cKJ108

WEST….NORTH….EAST….SOUTH
…………………….1C……..Pass
1S……..4H……….Pass…..Pass
4S……..Pass……..Pass…..5C
Pass….5H………?

Entry filed under: bidding.

A further observation on bridge vs chess At the five level. Four card majors

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ben Thompson  |  May 27, 2010 at 10:22 pm

    Looks like a double to me. I don’t think we’re beating it much, I just think they’ve over-reached and I think partner’s done enough.

    HK is a defensive trick, my clubs are terribly plac ed for play (I guess my 1C could have been 3 or even 2, and that 5C bid must be natural).

    Maybe I should cash DA on opening lead just in case something obscure is happening, but I think I’ll go the mundane S lead.

    Reply
  • 2. Chris Mulley  |  May 27, 2010 at 6:01 pm

    What would 2S by partner over the 1C opening mean? I presume that an immediate 4S would be to play (pre-emptive), so my guess is that partner has a hand that is too good to do that. However, partner can’t be THAT good because (s)he has failed to hit 5C.

    At this vulnerability, I think I’ll pass. Club to the Ace (or, worse still, the Queen) followed by a club ruff is not a start that partner will like in 5Sx. I think it’s much more likely that they are making than we are setting 5H by 2 tricks; -50 vs -100 (if I’d doubled) for one off does not tempt me.

    Reply
  • 3. phil markey  |  May 27, 2010 at 4:30 pm

    pass

    pathetic not to bid 4 spades over 4 hearts with these cards – if north had bid 6 hearts over 1 spade i would of bid 6 spades without thinking

    as bid i figure pard has ace and king to a gazillion spades worth no defence – if he has something else he will double – as for bidding 5 spades i have no big reason to think that will make despite my non-support support – in the real world i might get to double 7 hearts by my 3rd or 4th bid but trying to make up for being stupid is just more stupid – much better to assume the initial stupid was actually right albeit stupid

    ps i have no agreement about pass bieng forcing because its not forcing unless its obviously forcing and this isnt obviously forcing

    Reply
    • 4. Chris Mulley  |  May 28, 2010 at 10:30 am

      Could this be a first? Phil and I choose the same bid on a hand? Maybe I’m learning something through the discussion in this forum.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers


