The Man from Takapuna

January 13, 2011 at 6:17 pm 1 comment

So you pick up:

sKJ1084
h110
d1J4
cAQJ94

Second in hand, nil vul, teams, what do you do? I know, I know. It’s just a 1S opening, isn’t it? Not really. In the other room this hand opened 1S and when 4H was passed back to him, he continued 5C. You don’t want to, but what else can chickenman do? That went for 300.

About 99 times out of a hundred, I open this 1C and expect to comfortably bid most of my hand at a lower level. But I was playing with my little brother and trying to make him feel warm and safe. So I opened 1S, not considering for one moment that I have the Man from Takapuna on my left. I don’t know exactly what he does for a living. He’s a spy. Or he has bank accounts in Switzerland. He’s a slippery creature who never has what he should. The Man from Takapuna is as devious as they come.

He overcalled 1NT, partner raised my spades, a prompt 3NT from RHO, partner whips out a spade, declarer claims. This is the layout.

NORTH
Howe

sA52
h1876
d1AQ1065
c62

WEST
Depasquale

sQ763
h154
d1K72
cK753

EAST
Chua

sKJ1084
h110
d1J4
cAQJ94

SOUTH
Ewart

s9
h1AKQJ932
d1983
c108

I guess I could have bid 4C on the way out. It seems to me, however, that playing 5 card majors my partner is good enough for 3S over 1NT and that makes life easier for me. If we don’t have any points a nine card fit is probably essential.

As for the 1NT overcall, did it get what it deserved? Ie a big potential downside for a gain of 3 IMPs when it worked. In the other room the normal 4H bid by Hinge forced EW to bid at the five level….

Entry filed under: bidding.

Plan the play…the solution What do you lead?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Richard09  |  January 14, 2011 at 8:16 am

    Did 1NT get what it deserved? The thing is, you only hear about these hands when the 3NT makes. All the times 3NT goes down, you don’t see blog entries or magazine articles saying “what a doofus”. So it’s hard to tell what the success percentage is.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


