What do you lead?

January 14, 2011 at 7:22 am 2 comments

You find yourself on lead to 6D holding these:

s872
h1A9642
d17
cJ864

after this auction:

1D……..1S
2D……..4D RKC
5C……..6D Opener has two with the DQ

What do you think?

Entry filed under: defence.

The Man from Takapuna What do you lead? Continued

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ben Thompson  |  January 14, 2011 at 9:23 am

    Declarer has a lot of his minimum locked up in his 2+Q response to rkc, so dummy is way more likely to have HK than declarer. Dummy is also likely to have control of all the side suits and would usually have a source of tricks for an auction like this.

    It looks attractive on that basis to lead a low H. Some problems I can see with that are:
    – dummy’s H control might be a singleton (oops – lose to declarer’s HK, then watch the ruffs fly)
    – those guys might have HQ as well, score a necessary H trick, pitch the other H loser (my black holdings suggest this is easily possible) and ultimately lose some other trick

    I would hate either of those, so are we some chance to beat this if I just go boring and stick the HA on the table? I think yes. There might be a losing black finesse to take. Partner might just have a surprise trump trick given my singleton.

    I cash HA, but I take my time doing it so I can convincingly berate myself later for not leading a low H if that’s what I had to do.

    Reply
  • 2. memphis mojo  |  January 14, 2011 at 7:27 am

    This looks like the time to lead a low heart, but everytime I do, it doesn’t work because partner can’t read it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


